How We Work

LifeWatch ERIC is a distributed research infrastructure consortium founded by seven European Union Member States. The current members are Belgium, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain. All seven members operate from national nodes, known as Distributed Centres, while LifeWatch ERIC‘s Common Facilities are located in three Member States: Spain (ICT-Core), Italy (Service Centre) and the Netherlands (VLab & Innovation Centre).

Are you interested in joining LifeWatch ERIC? Take a look at our FAQ.

Common Facilities

Distributed Centres


LifeWatch ERIC relies on a multi-level governance model to ensure effective decision-making, smooth management, scientific soundness and transparency of processes.

The infrastructure includes two main Statutory Bodies to carry out these functions the General Assembly and the Executive Board.

These are supported by four Subsidiary Bodies:

  • The Standing Committee, supervising the management of LifeWatch ERIC
  • The Financial Committee
  • The Scientific and Technical Advisory Board
  • The Ethics Committee.

Statutory Bodies

Policies and Internal Rules

Following the Recommendation of the General Assembly, a set of policies and internal rules were have been developed to ensure LifeWatch ERIC smooth functioning.

All LifeWatch ERIC Policies and Internal Rules are listed below.

Please note that those documents stored under the the Public tab are freely accessible, those stored under the Restricted access are reserved. 

Please note that access to the documents listed below is restricted, therefore the links will only open if you are logged in with your LwOS account and have the necessary permissions.